Posted on

Michael Vey The Prisoner of Cell 25 book review

Michael Vey The Prisoner of Cell 25

Richard Paul Evans

Science Fiction/Adventure

336 Pages

 

This book was awesome!  I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started it because I had never even heard of it, but I really enjoyed it.  Michael Vey is a high school kid with a secret.  He’s electric.  He has the power of electricity running through him, but he must keep it a secret to ensure nothing bad happens.  When he starts to get stronger though, it becomes harder to contain his power and those who have been searching for him since his birth finally discover him.  Michael is catapulted into a new world of danger and adventure as he must fight to protect the ones he loves.

 

This book had some similarities to other books where kids discover they have powers, such as Harry Potter or Percy Jackson, but it was certainly its own story.  Also, some of you reading might think, “electric kids, really?” and in some cases, I would be right there with you.  However, Evans has come up with a way to explain these powers that seems plausible enough, so that it makes sense that something like this could happen in a normal world, without the explanation of something supernatural, like magic.  There are very few kids similar to Michael, but they are out there, and Michael must discover who his allies are and who his enemies are.

 

Michael must confront those behind the organization looking for him and causing his family pain.  With the help of his friends, both new and old, Michael must get to the bottom of the organization and fight to get his life and freedom back.  Friends become enemies and enemies become friends in this thriller that is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat.  I got so excited when I finished this book to continue on with the adventure that I went out to search for the next one in the series.  I was sad to find out that it isn’t out yet.  However, it is coming out in August of this year, so it will shortly be here, and I will be anxiously awaiting its arrival.  This book is great.  It’s not too out there, like some books in this genre, and it is full of adventure and excitement.  It is a book that is suitable for any age, but in my opinion, even a very entertaining read for adults.  So pick it up and check out this new name in teenage adventurers!

2 responses to “Michael Vey The Prisoner of Cell 25 book review

  1. I have never heard of this before but it look really good. I have now put it in my pile. Thank you for an awesome review 🙂

  2. No problem, glad I could help! I hadn’t heard of it either until my mom passed it my way and now I love it! Can’t wait for the next one. Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

