Posted on

Michael Vey Rise of the Elgen book review

Michael Vey Rise of the Elgen

Richard Paul Evans

Science Fiction/Adventure

335 Pages

 

Michael Vey and the rest of the Electroclan are back to battle Dr. Hatch and the Elgen empire in this second installment of the series. If you liked the first book, I think you’ll like this one. I thought it was really fun and I read it over the course of a few days because I was really into it and excited to see what would happen. Michael and his friends who helped bring down the Pasadena location of the Elgen set out to do whatever it takes to find Michael’s mother. It takes them a while, but they finally find out where she is being held and realize they need to travel to South America to get her back.

 

This book is packed with excitement. When the gang gets back to Idaho to regroup, they are met with traps laid for them by the Elgen and have to use their skills and cleverness to escape more than once. Then they have to figure out how to get to South America to find Michael’s mother. While they are figuring everything out, the electric kids try to practice and expand their powers, so they will be ready to face Dr. Hatch, his electric kids, and the rest of the Elgen army. Meanwhile, joining Dr. Hatch is a new electric kid with a dangerous power of his own, making the mission even more troubling.

 

When Michael and his friends make it to South America and find the compound that his mother is being held in, they see how daunting their situation is. There are thousands of guards there, the other electric kids, and even Dr. Hatch himself. Now they have to find a way inside the heavily guarded compound, rescue Michael’s mother, and escape with everyone safely. There was a lot of adventure in this book, it was very exciting to read. They are constantly getting into trouble and hairy situations, and it is often the ones without powers, Ostin, Jack, and Wade, who are most helpful at getting past them. I was glad to see that Jack and Wade stuck with Michael and the Electoclan to help them rescue Michael’s mother. I have come to really like all the characters in the book, they each have an important role and work together great as a team.

 

This book has enough excitement and twists to keep you guessing a bit. You hope that everyone will come out all right, but there are a couple times in the book where you just don’t know if that will happen. The ending of the book was a surprise to me, not what I was expecting, but it left me excited to read the next book for sure. I just wish that I didn’t have to wait and that it was out right now! I really enjoyed both the books in this series so far, and I can’t wait until the next one!

2 responses to “Michael Vey Rise of the Elgen book review

  1. Camden ⋅

    I think you review was quite helpful. I am in elementary school and was doing a book report on this. I needed a little help on my summary so I googled it. I will be sure to put your name in my Bibliography. Thank you for the help. Michael Vey 3: Battle of the Ampere comes out 9/17/2013. I think we both cannot wait for it.

    • Camden,
      That is so great to hear, makes my day that you found my review helpful! I appreciate you taking the time to let me know! ANd I’m glad that you love reading, I didn’t start to until I was much older than you, so that’s great! Keep reading and yes, I also can’t wait for Michael Vey 3! I wasn’t sure about the release date so thanks for letting me know. I’ll be looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

